Love is a Language

Written by Nicole Scheidl

February 3, 2012

“He sends you flowers when what you really want is time to talk. She gives you a hug when what you really need is a home-cooked meal. The problem isn’t your love it’s your love language!”

So reads the back of Gary Chapman’s book The Five Love Languages, a New York Times Bestseller that looks at the way different people express love in different ways. He identifies and explains five different love languages:

  • Quality Time
  • Word of Affirmation
  • Gifts
  • Acts of Service
  • Physical Touch

He cautions that what speaks volumes to you may not speak to another, whether it be your spouse or child. Dr. Chapman doesn’t leave you there but gives you practical tips on how to speak each others language. And if you don’t know your own language you can fill-out the Five Love Languages Personal Assessment Form here.

Since our relationships are so important to our well-being we should at least make sure we are speaking the language of love that those we love can understand.


You May Also Like…

Aging Well – Doing It Together

Aging Well – Doing It Together

As the year begins, I want to ask you a question. What are your views on aging? This year I want to explore what it...


The month of November is a time to remember. On November 11th there is a collective moment around much of the world to...


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *